Trem Carr was an early film producer, beginning as early as 1926 with the Trem Carr Productions Ltd. W. Ray Johnston’s Rayart Pictures Corp. distributed Carr’s films. In 1928, Johnston and Carr began Syndicate Pictures. In 1931, they formed Monogram Pictures. That same year, Carr took out a five-year lease on land in Placerita Canyon in the area which is now owned by the Disney Corporation (see Golden Oak Ranch).

The June 4, 1931, issue of The Newhall Signal stated that "Placerita Canyon has become quite a movie center. At the Jones ranch [see the Andy Jauregui Ranch], a village street has been built for the use of companies making ‘Westerns’ which are much in vogue right now. The Trem Carr company has also obtained a lease on a ranch, and is planning a ‘five year program’ ... This is next to the Jones tract."

Ernie Hickson (see Placeritos Ranch) built a western street on the Carr property, using aged lumber from Nevada, and a Spanish hacienda. The western street was situated in an east/west orientation with the Spanish hacienda a short distance to the east of it.

Republic Pictures was formed in 1935 by combining several film companies, one of which being Monogram Pictures. Within a year, Carr and Johnston walked away from Republic and reformed Monogram. Around this same time, Carr lost the lease on his property in Placerita Canyon.

The October 15, 1936, issue of The Newhall Signal stated that "the Trem Carr Studio is being moved this week to a 10-acre tract of land near the Glen Farnsworth Ranch, about half a mile from its former location. The nearness of oil wells compelled the move." This new location was the Hickson Ranch (see Placeritos Ranch).

One of the last uses of the western street was for the Laurel & Hardy feature, Way Out West.


"Two Fisted Law" (Columbia 1932) Directed by: D. Ross Lederman. Cast: Tim McCoy, John Wayne, Walter Brennan, Tully Marshall, Alice Day, Wheeler Oakman, Wallace McDonald, Richard Alexander.

"Trouble Busters" (Majestic 1932) Directed by: Lew Collins. Cast: Jack Hoxie, Lane Chandler, Kaye Edwards, Harry Todd, Ben Corbett, Charles Whittaker, William T. Burt, Roger Williams.

"Riders of Destiny" (Monogram 1933) Directed by: Robert N. Bradbury. Cast: John Wayne, Cecilia Parker, Forrest Taylor, George Hayes, Al St. John, Heinie Conklin, Yakima Canutt, Earl Dwire, Lafe McKee, Addie Foster.

"Sagebrush Trail" (Monogram 1933) Directed by: Armand Schaefer. Cast: John Wayne, Nancy Shubert, Lane Chandler, Yakima Canutt, Henry Hall, Wally Wales, Art Mix, Bob Burns.

"The Lucky Texan" (Monogram 1933) Directed by: Robert N. Bradbury. Cast: John Wayne, Barbara Sheldon, Lloyd Whitlock, George Hayes, Yakima Canutt, Ed Parker, Gordon Demaine, Earl Dwire.

"The Trail Beyond" (Monogram 1934) Directed by: Robert Bradbury. Cast: John Wayne, Verna Hillie, Noah Beery Sr., Noah Beery Jr., Robert Frazer, Iris Lancaster, James Marcus, Eddie Parker, Earl Dwire.

"The Lawless Frontier" (Monogram 1934) Directed by: R. N. Bradbury. Cast: John Wayne, Sheila Terry, Jack Rockwell, George Hayes, Buffalo Bill Jr, Yakima Canutt, Bud Wood, Earl Dwire.

"Texas Terror" (Monogram 1934) Directed by: R. N. Bradbury. Cast: John Wayne, Lucille Brown, Leroy Mason, Fern Emmett, George Hayes, Buffalo Bill Jr., John Ince, Henry Roguemore, Jack Duffy.

"Lawless Riders" (Columbia 1935) Directed by: Spencer Gordon Bennet. Cast: Ken Maynard, Geneva Mitchell, Harry Woods, Frank Yaconelli, Wally Wales, Slim Whitaker, Frank Ellis, Jack Rockwell.

"The Dawn Rider" (Monogram 1935) Directed by: R. N. Bradbury. Cast: John Wayne, Marion Burns, Denny Meadows, Reed Howes, Joe DeGrasse, Yakima Canutt, Earl Dwire, Nelson McDowell.

"The Desert Trail" (Monogram 1935) Directed by: Cullen Lewis. Cast: John Wayne, Mary Kornman, Paul Fix, Eddy Chandler, Carmen Laroux, Lafe McKee, Al Ferguson, Henry Hall.

"The New Frontier" (Republic 1935) Directed by: Carl L. Pierson. Cast: John Wayne, Muriel Evans, Warner Richmond, Alan Bridge, Sam Flint, Murdock MacQuarrie, Allan Cavan, Mary Maclaren, Theodore Lorch, Glen Strange, Phil Keefer, Frank Ball, Jack Montgomery.

"The Lawless Nineties" (Republic 1936) Directed by: Joseph Kane. Cast: John Wayne, Ann Rutherford, Harry Woods, George Hayes, Al Bridge, Snowflake, Etta McDaniel, Tom Brower, Lane Chandler, Cliff Lyons, Jack Rockwell, Al Taylor, Charles King, George Chesebro, Tracy Layne, Chuck Baldra, Sam Flint, Tom London.